Hidden Valley Road

'An extraordinary case study and tour de force of reporting' - Sylvia Nasar, author of A Beautiful Mind 'This book tore my heart out.

Hidden Valley Road

Hidden Valley Road

12 children. 6 of them diagnosed with schizophrenia. Science's greatest hope in understanding the disease. ___________ *ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVOURITE BOOKS OF 2020* *TIME 100 Must-Read Books Of 2020 Pick* *New York Times bestseller* *Selected as Oprah's Book Club Pick* 'Startlingly intimate' - The Sunday Times 'Grippingly told and brilliantly reported' - Mail on Sunday 'Unforgettable' - The Times For fans of Educated, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Three Identical Strangers Don and Mimi Galvin seemed to be living the American dream. After World War II, Don's work with the Air Force brought them to Colorado, where their twelve children perfectly spanned the baby boom: the oldest born in 1945, the youngest in 1965. In those years, there was an established script for a family like the Galvins - aspiration, hard work, upward mobility, domestic harmony - and they worked hard to play their parts. But behind the scenes was a different story: psychological breakdown, sudden shocking violence, hidden abuse. By the mid-1970s, six of the ten Galvin boys, one after the other, were diagnosed as schizophrenic. How could all this happen to one family? What took place inside the house on Hidden Valley Road was so extraordinary that the Galvins became one of the first families to be studied by the National Institutes of Mental Health. Their story offers a shadow history of the science of schizophrenia, from the era of institutionalization, lobotomy, and the schizophrenogenic mother, to the search for genetic markers for the disease, always amidst profound disagreements about the nature of the illness itself. And unbeknownst to the Galvins, samples of their DNA informed decades of genetic research that continues today, offering paths to treatment, prediction, and even eradication of the disease for future generations. With clarity and compassion, bestselling and award-winning author Robert Kolker uncovers one family's unforgettable legacy of suffering, love and hope. 'An extraordinary case study and tour de force of reporting' - Sylvia Nasar, author of A Beautiful Mind 'This book tore my heart out. It is a revelation-about the history of mental health treatment, about trauma, foremost about family-and a more-than-worthy follow-up to Robert Kolker's brilliant Lost Girls' -Megan Abbott, Edgar Award-winning author of Dare Me and Give Me Your Hand 'Hidden Valley Road contains everything: scientific intrigue, meticulous reporting, startling revelations, and, most of all, a profound sense of humanity. It is that rare book that can be read again and again' -David Grann, author of Killers of the Flower Moon

More Books:

Hidden Valley Road
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Robert Kolker
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-09 - Publisher: Hachette UK

12 children. 6 of them diagnosed with schizophrenia. Science's greatest hope in understanding the disease. ___________ *ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVOURITE BOOKS OF 2020* *TIME 100 Must-Read Books Of 2020 Pick* *New York Times bestseller* *Selected as Oprah's Book Club Pick* 'Startlingly intimate' - The Sunday Times 'Grippingly told and
HIDDEN VALLEY ROAD.
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: ROBERT. KOLKER
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020 - Publisher:

Books about HIDDEN VALLEY ROAD.
Summary and Analysis of
Language: en
Pages: 82
Authors: Book Tigers
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-06-06 - Publisher:

SUMMARY AND ANALYSIS OF: Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family By Robert KolkerThis is not intended to replace the original book, but to serve as a companion to it and provide you with an excellent reading experience. The "Summary and Analysis" collection by Book Tigers Publishing
Summary of Robert Kolker's Hidden Valley Road
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Swift Reads
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-01-06 - Publisher: Swift Books LLC

Buy now to get the insights from Robert Kolker's Hidden Valley Road. Sample Insights: 1) Don and Mimi Galvin had twelve children: Donald Jr. (1945), Jim (1947), John (1949), Brian (1951), Michael (1953), Richard (1954), Joseph (1956), Mark (1957), Matthew (1958), Peter (1960), Margaret (1962), and Mary (1965). Donald Jr.,
Summary and Analysis of Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family by Robert Kolker
Language: en
Pages: 44
Authors: Richard B. Banks
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-05 - Publisher:

This is a Summary and Analysis of Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family by Robert Kolker and not the original book. Contained in this book is a detailed summary and analysis of the ideas and thoughts of the author in simple and and easy-to-understand form. NOTE:

Popular All Time

LEGO® Awesome Ideas
Cedric The Shark Learns To Count
Coding Games in Scratch
Star Wars™ Character Encyclopedia
The Mason Jar Scientist
Balloonology
The Laura Ingalls Wilder Companion
The LEGO® Ideas Book
Big Book of Spy Stuff
The Night Badgers - Play Cricket (2-6 Year Olds)
101 Bible Trivia Questions for Children
Iggy Peck's Big Project Book for Amazing Architects
Ancient Earth Journal: The Early Cretaceous
Wow in the World: Two Whats?! and a Wow! Think & Tinker Playbook
The Snow Queen (ILLUSTRATED EDITION)
The Printer's Devil
Play at Home with Elmo
Brick x Brick

Recent Books: